Yamaha PSR E453 Recording Help

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm new to recording keyboard and want to test recording with my Yamaha PSR E453 keyboard. The keyboards built-in presets sounds good to me and would like to record thos in to my DAW Reaper. I was wondering if it's possible to do that via USB or if I will need to get a VSTi plugin like EZkeys to choose from different sounds? I apologize if my thread is confusing since I'm new to recording overall but I appreciate any and all effort put into giving me an answer!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Welcome to the forums!

Yes, the PSR-E453 has USB audio along with USB MIDI. Both work in either direction-- in or out.

You should be able to record your keyboard's audio in your DAW using a USB connection, and (if desired) play audio on your computer and listen to it through your keyboard's speakers.

Likewise, you can record your keyboard's MIDI data in your DAW, or use your keyboard as a controller to play virtual instruments on your computer, or sequence MIDI data to your keyboard.

What operating system is your computer running?

If you're running Windows, you'll need to install the Yamaha Steinberg USB driver-- not the standard Yamaha USB MIDI driver, because that driver will not recognize the PSR-E453 and will not work. The PSR-E453 is class compliant, so you do not need to install the driver if you just want to use the USB connection for MIDI, but you will need to install the driver if you want to use the USB connection for audio.

Reaction score
Hello and thanks for your answer!

I'm running Windows 10. I have succesfully installed the Steinbeg driver but i can't get the soundbanks in the keyboard to become audible in Reaper. Do I use the "TO HOST" output on the keyboard or the "TO DEVICE" output? Right now I'm using the "TO HOST." Maybe it doesn't matter wich of those I use?

Thanks again for your answer!

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score