Adding registration memory functionality to ctk601

Discussion in 'Casio Keyboards' started by MJD601, Oct 5, 2018.

  1. MJD601

    MJD601

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I want to use a ctk601 I have for an arts project I'm doing, however I've found the 601 doesn't have the registration memory functionality that comes with the models 651 up, so it's not possible to store keyboard set ups and recall them. I would really like functionality for the project however I'd also like to stick with using the 601 - I have a ctk691 but it doesn't suit my needs for a variety of reasons.

    So, does anyone know if there is a way to add set up memory functionality to the 601, either by midi or modification? I'm comfortable with opening it up and even modifying boards if that will do the trick.

    Any ideas welcome,
    Thanks.
     
    MJD601, Oct 5, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MJD601

    Biggles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    689
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK.
    Welcome

    Just wanted to say Hi, and sorry I have zero knowledge of the techincal aspects of your excellent vintage Casio.

    Good luck getting it modified to suit your requirements
     
    Biggles, Oct 5, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MJD601

    MJD601

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. It's the quality yet simplicity of the sounds and the rhythms that make the 601 work so well for me. I bought a 691 for the registration memory function but found that the rhythms and sounds are not so much to my liking, everything is a bit more 'polished', almost overdone I would say. In particular the rhythm set seems to be a whole different engine.

    I'm researching the 651 and trying to find one of those cheap as I think it might have the same rhythm engine as the 601. Then I hopefully I could get the older sound of the 601 but with some built in registration memory banks. That or someone can help me with setting up some banks for the 601. Will see.
     
    MJD601, Oct 5, 2018
    #3
  4. MJD601

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,776
    Likes Received:
    2,679
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    You might want to look around for a simple patch librarian software that can set up each voice on the proper channel.

    For rhythms you'd need a MIDI sequencer of some sort.

    It's probably doable with a computer or tablet and MIDI software but you'll have to do a lot of homework to achieve the results you are hoping for,

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Oct 5, 2018
    #4
  5. MJD601

    MJD601

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Gary. I thought any solution might be rather convoluted.

    Think I'm going to investigate using the ctk691 again instead but look at how I can get the rhythms I miss from the 601 into it. That or the 651 might work.
     
    MJD601, Oct 5, 2018
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.