can't get keyboard working

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm a bit new to recording and can't seem to get my keyboard working. I'm using:
- Alesis DG8 keyboard
- Midi out/in to USB chord
- Cubase 5 / windows 7

The computer reads the chord as "USB2MIDI" when I plug it in, as does Cubase 5.
Now the problem I'm having is that cubase isn't responding to the keyboard. Is there some software I need to get for the keyboard to be read? I've tried everything I could within cubase but to no avail.
Any help appreciated!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I haven't worked with Cubase but if it's anything like every other DAW out there you have to go into the options menus and configure the software to actually recognize your keyboard's make and model.

MIDI is NOT a plug n play spec.

Oh and go into your Alesis manual and see if there's anywhere in the keyboard's menus to enable MIDI out. Sometimes it's not enabled by default or has to be configured between MIDI ports and USB ports.

Reaction score
I haven't worked with Cubase but if it's anything like every other DAW out there you have to go into the options menus and configure the software to actually recognize your keyboard's make and model.

MIDI is NOT a plug n play spec.

Oh and go into your Alesis manual and see if there's anywhere in the keyboard's menus to enable MIDI out. Sometimes it's not enabled by default or has to be configured between MIDI ports and USB ports.
Configuring cubase to recognize my keyboard is what i'm having trouble with. Is there a program I need to download and run for my keyboard before I open cubase? This keyboard doesn't come with any software or drivers =(
It's made in 1999 also, I'm not sure if this thing even knows what a usb is, lol.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
OK, so you're using a MIDI to USB adapter and hooking it up to the MIDI ports on the Alesis.