Casio CDP 220R - transfer music to PC

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a total beginner in this, please help.
I need to get my recorded song from my piano to my PC, in order to be able to work with the music further (in Ardour or a similar software). I followed the instructions in the manual - according to page 67 I should download Casio Data Manager. I did. When I record a song and transfer it to the software, it is downloaded in a strange "format": SP7. To be able to work with the music in Ardour I need i different format - wav, preferably.
The same happens when I use the guide for saving the song to SD card - the song is in SP7 format.

Please, help. Thank you very much...

Reaction score
Welcome.

SP7 is not an audio file it is an instruction set.

Try following the instructions in the manuals to connect up and output your keyboard to a PC and use software on the PC to record your performance.

Reaction score
That's the problem - I am following the instructions, but it doesn't work.
1.) When I use the Casio software, all I get is SP7 (manual, p. 67).
2.) When I connect the keyboard to my PC, nothing happens. When I open Ardour, Casio is not among the options available as neither input nor output device. (manual, p. 64)

Maybe I should use other software for editing and mixing music? Which one? (Something free, I am a beginner...)

Reaction score
1) what you see is correct, your Casio does nit record mp3, WAV files or any other audio file it just records data, the data is precisely what your play etc.

2) your PC should see the keyboard first, I hope you installed the Casio Dara Manager before you connected and powered up the keyboard, if you did not then Windows will have installed generic drivers.