Casio ct-x3000 vs Casio ct-s500

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a beginner in keyboards and I'm looking for cheap options that I can take advantage of, even if it's not professionally. Recently I have been looking at casio keyboards both the ct-x3000 and ct-s500 models that share similar features and fit my needs, however I find that they have some different features, for example: the casio ct-s500 has some knobs assignable for certain functions and the ct-x3000 does not have them but instead has rhythm creation (styles) and more slots available to save configurations. Both keyboards have similar prices but I would like to know which one is more useful and versatile for me, I play in a rock and ska band and I need to improve my gear.

Reaction score
Welcome.

I fail to see how a £300 Casio is going to improve your gear significantly.

A Roland Juno DS or similar by Yamaha or Korg would be a far more sensible buy

Reaction score
Thank you very much for your answer, however I would like to add a little more context to my situation, I am a guy who does not have enough money to buy a superior model of keyboard and these options are the best fit for the savings I have, it was even necessary for me to sell my previous keyboard, a casio ctk-2400 that was no longer useful for the work that I am doing and in terms of quality it is far below the casio models that I mentioned previously.

Reaction score
MeowDan - very similar keyboards. I haven't played any of them, but I have had Casio WK for many years. Not bad, easy to use. There are a few sounds that are really good, but this is enough for me. I would go with CTX 3000 , it seems closer to my keyboard, so I guess that is better. The only advantage of s-5oo seems to be sampling function, if this is of any interest to you.
In any case, enjoy the music, no matter which instrument you choose!

Reaction score
I bought a CT X5000 as a stop gap a couple of years ago.