Doesn't Anyone Make a Non-USB/DAW Truly AC Powered Midi Controller Anymore

Reaction score
Hi
I am a guitarist firstly and then a key-lover (it should be the reverse but I will take what I can get). I came to keys in the early 80's with a love for the synthesizer. I have fair chops and love playing keys. BUT I DESPISE (sorry, not wanting to offend anyone) soft-synths, virtual this and virtual that. I am trying to find a TRUE, OLD SCHOOL MIDI CONTROLLER that plugs into a wall and a rack synth...but MY GOD...does anyone make one (at a reasonable price) anymore??? Any advice is welcomed...(I cannot even find a used one.) Thanks.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
My Alesis QX49 has both REAL MIDI Ports and an AC Adapter Input.

Discontinued but you can still find a few inexpensive ones and a whole lot more expensive ones.

If you wanna drop lotsa coin on one take a look at Akai and Studiologic controllers.

Gary ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
The new model Alesis VI49 and VI61 sell for cheap and also include a real MIDI port and an optional AC Adapter Input!!!

https://www.amazon.com/Alesis-VI49-Advanced-Keyboard-Controller/dp/B00IWVWUWA/

https://www.amazon.com/Alesis-VI61-Advanced-Keyboard-Controller/dp/B00IWW5H24/

Problem solved!!!

(unless you're looking for an 88)

There's also the Arturia Keylab, which sells in 49, 61 and 88 versions for slightly more money.

https://www.amazon.com/Arturia-KeyLab-Keyboard-Controller-Software/dp/B00DJ5UHDI/

Gary ;)

Reaction score
I have an Arturia Keylab 88, and I love it. Curiously, you can power it two different ways: It has an AC port (which can feed off any 5-10V power supply), but also the USB port can be used as a wall charger too, which is even cheaper and easier since pretty much everyone has a USB cable with a wall converter sitting around. Then you're free to use the MIDI ports for midi.