easy way to record instruments

Reaction score
Hello,

I have a bunch of acoustic instruments I like to play around with. I don't know anything about midi, recording, software, etc and I don't wanna start plugging things into computer and such. I am a very beginner.

Is there any simple cheap gear, like a cassette recorder or something, that would let me record me playing one thing, then replay exactly this track on a speaker so I can play with another instrument on top of it?

I don't care about the sound quality, I would just like to have something simple and fast. Multiple tracks would be fun too.

Thanks alot.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
The good news is, if what you have is "a bunch of acoustic instruments" then you don't need to worry about MIDI. :)

The sort of bad news is, if you want to make better recordings then you really ought to "start plugging things into computer." You can't plug acoustic instruments into a computer, but you can plug a microphone into an audio interface, then plug the audio interface into a computer, and use the microphone to record yourself (in a DAW) playing an acoustic instrument. Then you can listen to the track you just recorded using a pair of headphones (so the microphone won't pick it up) while you use the microphone to record yourself (to another track in the DAW) playing a different acoustic instrument. Then play back both of those tracks, listening with headphones, and record yourself playing a third instrument, etc., repeating the process until you've got separate tracks for each instrument. Then you can use the DAW to adjust the tracks and balance them against each other to get one track with everything mixed together.