Hello!

Reaction score
Just joined the forum, looking for help. And boy do I need help. Trained as a Classical pianist, in recent years I've become enamored with electronic "Space Music". I'm no newbie to synths but I've had an unimaginable amount of trouble with equipment this time around...

Reaction score
Welcome.
Do you want to elaborate....?

The Y-man

Yes. I'll try to keep it brief (and as positive as possible) All I have right now is a Roland Juno-G. This Roland is even LESS self-explanatory than the Korg Triton I used to have, even with the DVD tutorial. If anyone can help simplify the Juno G please reply. The G isn't my main problem though...

One reason I bought this synth (used from a friend) with a built-in audio recorder is cause I've had an unbelievable amount of trouble recording audio by any means. I had a laptop 7-8yrs ago that used Cool Edit (3.5?) and that was the last time I could record with any reliability. I've tried numerous software programs, 4 different computers, and a Zoom digital studio- nothing was reliable at all. Whatever I try either locks up, loses my data, fails to record with frightful regularity, or has an impossibly byzantine user-interface that I can't deal with. (and the Zoom was slower than molasses when it worked)

The latest issue of Keyboard sums it up best in their article "Why Software Crashes": "So, what can we do? Should we hide in the closet with a candle and a four-track tape recorder and swear off digital technology forever?" Well, I tried that for real- but even my trusty Tascam 4-track tape recorder proved hopelessly unreliable. I'd set it up to record, do a quick test just to make sure, then without changing the settings I'd record for real- but half the time no audio had recorded to the tape(!) As I said, this started happening a whopping 50% of the time. I can deal with something going wrong once in a while, but not consistently, and the same unit used to be 100% reliable for me.