How to remove vibrato from MX88

Reaction score
Since I am new here, let me first slightly introduce myself. I am a retired Television, Electronics engineer(?) and an avid table tennis fanatic.

I am almost a total novice to music, but there is a song that I have loved from childhood and needed a piano to learn to play it. I bought a Yamaha MX88 and it works fine, except that I do not like the fact that when I select strings, I am getting a lot of vibrato. The song has a violin section which has no vibrato. Does anyone know how to remove or reduce the vibrato on an MX88?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I think your best bet might be to look for a strings/violin voice that doesn't have vibrato, or at least has a minimum of it. If you can't find one you like among the included preset voices, you can download a few free voice packs for the MX from Yamaha MusicSoft.

The MX doesn't have the ability to load new sound samples, but you can load or create "user voices" from the existing voice elements-- the basic sound samples from which the preset voices and those "new" voices you can get from Yamaha MusicSoft are formed. If you want to try your hand at creating your own user voices from the available elements, there is a program-- or suite of programs-- from John Melas that lets you do just that.

John Melas MOTIF Site (jmelas.gr)

Reaction score
SSG is right, you need to look through the strings sounds to find one without vibrato, you can't edit it out. This is because Yamaha uses two methods for vibrato on these instruments. ..

...One is that they use a recorded sample that includes no vibrato, and any desired vibrato is subsequently artifically added by the player during performance, for example using the modulation wheel (though some boards also allow you to add this with a pedal or with aftertouch which is just pressing harder on the key).