I think I've narrowed my search to two. What do you all think?

Reaction score
I want a portable keyboard around a $1,000 or less. I'm still learning, but this will be my only purchase for many years. I'm thinking the Roland FP30 or the Kawai ES100. I want something that sounds great and I can take to do gigs. Pick one or give me other ideas if you think I'm making a mistake.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
In that price range also give consideration to the Casio PX-5S and PX-560m

Way more bang for the buck in a less cumbersome package.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Of the two Casio digital pianos which do you think is best. Also is a digital piano the same as a keyboard. I get kind lost in the wording.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
The 560 has a slight edge over the 5S in that it has a color touch screen and has a better piano sound.

Seeing that it was released 3 years after the 5S it stands to reason it contains slightly more advanced technology.

On the other hand, they both share features of the same synth engine though the PX-5S is the more tweakable of the two.

The 560 has more arranger style type features while it is notoriously difficult to set up a drum accompaniment track on the 5S.

The 560 also has built in speakers as well as Line Outs while the 5S has Line Outs only.

Truth be told, the lines these days are blurring between stage pianos and workstations and arrangers these days and while the Roland and Kawai you listed are both simply stage pianos they have an extremely limited range of sounds they can produce.

The 560 and the 5S are both closer to workstations than simple Pianos and of the two I'd guess that the 560 is the easier to control and program.

Since the price difference between the two is trivial I'd suggest doing your research and trying them both out in person if possible to get a feel for them.

Personally I'm considering selling off my PC3K and getting a 560 myself.

Gary ;)

Reaction score