Input/Output Question - Cakewalk Music Creator 6

Discussion in 'Sequencers and Music Software' started by Jim Inman, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. Jim Inman

    Jim Inman

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use my Roland A-49 midi controller to record midi tracks into Music Creator 6 that feeds my Ketron SD2 module into my USB mixer which sends the sound back to my Cakewalk. For the piano track, I wish to use a Yamaha P-45 both to record and for play back. When I connect the USB my Yamaha appears as digital piano, so I select it as both input and output, but input is the only thing I get. The track records but the sound comes from the Ketron, not from the Yamaha. I have found no combination of input-output-instrument settings to get the Yamaha to play back. In assigning the piano track its patch, nothing from the Yamaha is offered. Any ideas?
     
    Jim Inman, Aug 14, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jim Inman

    SeaGtGruff I meant to play that note! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    591
    I don't have Music Creator, but hopefully the demo version of SONAR is similar enough.

    If you are adding a track by using the "+ Add Track" option, you can choose "Audio" or "Instrument"-- choose the "Instrument" option. Then click on the "Instrument" drop-down field and select "MIDI Only." Next, click on the "Advanced" option (unless it's already expanded), click on the "Output" drop-down field, and it should show you all of the MIDI outputs that you had enabled in the "Preferences." Select the one you want, either the Ketron SD2 or Yamaha P-45, whatever they're called.

    If you are right-clicking and selecting "Insert MIDI Track," the new MIDI track will apparently default to the MIDI output which is listed first in the "Preferences." If you want to send the MIDI to a different output, click on the new track and then, in the lower left corner where it shows "In / Out," click on the second field ("O" or Output) and it should let you choose from among the enabled MIDI outputs.
     
    SeaGtGruff, Aug 14, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jim Inman

    Jim Inman

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Sea. Music Creator 6 does not offer the Sonar path you describe The 3 attached photos illustrate my settings. Maybe in viewing them you'll see something further to suggest.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      215.5 KB
      Views:
      11
    • 2.JPG
      2.JPG
      File size:
      277 KB
      Views:
      10
    • 3.JPG
      3.JPG
      File size:
      366.5 KB
      Views:
      12
    Jim Inman, Aug 14, 2017
    #3
  4. Jim Inman

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,281
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    First off, in the third jpg, the Yamaha is probably visible if you scroll down the output instrument list.

    Secondly make certain the Yamaha is set to receive on the channel which you are outputting your track.

    ie. Is the Yamaha set to Channel 1 or channel 8?

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Aug 14, 2017
    #4
  5. Jim Inman

    SeaGtGruff I meant to play that note! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    591
    Okay, I can see in the first two images that you actually do have the P-45 selected as the output, which is good.

    However, the screen shown in the third image isn't used for selecting the output device, it's used for selecting the patch mapping-- if one is available. This is strictly for convenience, to help you select the voice banks and voices by their names rather than by their numeric values. You could start by selecting Yamaha XG, which should be a good generic choice for any Yamaha keyboard. But I believe there's also an option to load a new instrument definition file if you have one. If you don't already have one, you might be able to find one by searching the web for something like "Cakewalk instrument definition Yamaha P-45," or use "patch list" in place of "instrument definition." If you can't find one for the P-45 or a similar model, you could try creating your own patch list file using the voice list in the P-45's manuals-- it's usually easiest to start with an existing file for a similar model and edit it as needed.
     
    SeaGtGruff, Aug 14, 2017
    #5
  6. Jim Inman

    Jim Inman

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I FOUND THE SOLUTION:
    The digital piano's MIDI settings can select a transmit channel but it isn't necessary because it transmits regardless of its setting. It receives on all 16 channels and that cannot be altered. Below are the settings I eventually found to record from the digital piano and hear it play back, while also hearing my Ketron tracks.

    Choose a MIDI track/channel for the digital piano, then follow these paths:
    1. Preferences > MIDI Devices > Inputs/Outputs > both Ketron & Digital Piano for In and Out.
    2. Preferences > MIDI Instruments > Output/Channel > (whatever track/channel you've chosen for the digital piano) > Uses Instrument > default. (<default> has to be selected - it's at the top)
    3. Apply > Close.

    As for the IN/OUT drop-downs on the Inspector Pane, select either of these:
    IN > None, or
    IN > Digital Piano > MIDI Omni.
    (Do not select the channel you're using for the digital piano because the piano will not transmit.)
    OUT > Digital Piano.
     
    Jim Inman, Aug 15, 2017
    #6
  7. Jim Inman

    SeaGtGruff I meant to play that note! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    591
    I'm glad you were able to get it working the way you needed! :)
     
    SeaGtGruff, Aug 15, 2017
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Nevermind

    Music Creator 2003- recording noise

    Nevermind, Jul 16, 2003, in forum: cakewalk.audio
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    446
    Nevermind
    Jul 16, 2003
  2. Ernest Siu

    Music Creator 2002 cannot execute!!

    Ernest Siu, Feb 15, 2004, in forum: cakewalk.audio
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    329
    Organfreak
    Feb 16, 2004
  3. J.
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    641
    Smiley
    Apr 18, 2004
  4. Rugmeister

    Music Creator Pro24 / AudioTrack Bleed-Thru

    Rugmeister, Jul 24, 2004, in forum: cakewalk.audio
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    384
    Rootbouy
    Jul 25, 2004
  5. walrus
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    330
    walrus
    Sep 18, 2004
  6. thetodd

    No midi output in Music Creator '02

    thetodd, Feb 12, 2005, in forum: cakewalk.audio
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,137
    James Egan
    Feb 15, 2005
  7. ationsong@gmail.com

    Music Creator Audio Input Trouble

    ationsong@gmail.com, Feb 8, 2006, in forum: cakewalk.audio
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    564
    ationsong@gmail.com
    Feb 8, 2006
  8. Kurt Knoll

    cakewalk music creator and cakewalk epress

    Kurt Knoll, Dec 28, 2006, in forum: cakewalk.audio
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    729
    Glennbo
    Dec 29, 2006
Loading...