Juno DS - low volume/choppy sound

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I’m a Roland newbie and not an synth or piano expert by far but today I got myself the ds88 and unfortunately I’m forced to ask for your help.
I’ve connected the ds via 2x6.3mm line out to 2xrca together with a 100 w + powered speaker, but the volume I m getting out of this setup is quite low. Basically, for a decent sound in a small room, I need to turn up the sound all the way on the speaker and more than halfway on the keyboard.
When I do this, I can hear a faint beeping sound (like a battery running out) on both channels.
Also, the sound via headphones is also low. When I turn on the demo songs, I can hear them a little bit louder on the speakers but when using the headphones (decent quality ones), the sounds gets choppy at times- even distorting the bass.

I ve performed a factory reset multiple times, turned all the knobs to 0, but it s still the same. Cables are also brand new.

Seems that there could be a equalizer somewhere distorting the sound, but there shouldn’t be any effect/eq active after a factory reset on the standard grand piano sound….

I’ve hooked it up via usb to yousician- and when playing the ds on their sound engine, the volume seems fine.

Any ideas, please? Anything is appreciated

Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
First test it with proper monitors or an amp before you blame the keyboard.

Those are all line level connections. There should be no problem.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
First test it with proper monitors or an amp before you blame the keyboard.

Those are all line level connections. There should be no problem.

Gary ;)
The speakers are quite proper….also I get the same sound on headphones….which are proper…

The sound just seems…defective. I thought Roland were supposed to have quality products…

Reaction score
The speakers are quite proper….also I get the same sound on headphones….which are proper…