Keyboard or Midi-Controller?

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm new to this forum, so I'll use the occasion to introduce myself quickly. I'm an Austrian student and I'm studying in France. When I was a boy, I took piano and keyboard classes, but I lost interest after a couple of years and stopped playing.
Now, I enjoy playing the piano when I'm in Austria and would like to be able to play here in France as well. I'm living in a small flat, so neither do I have the space nor the money to buy a real piano.
So I'm looking for a keyboard with a good piano sound, I don't really care about any other sound. It should be weighted and velocity sensitive and have about 70 keys.

And... my budget is about 500 Euros, so rather limited.

I read about the M-Audio Keystation Pro 88, which I could plug into my computer. I've got some O.K.-speakers and I should be able to get the right programs as well. It costs about 300 Pounds at amazon, shipping included.

What do you think of it? Do you have any other suggestions? Maybe a Keyboard that can do the same (about the same size, good piano sound, weighted) for the same price?

Well, thanks in advance, I'm eager to read your answers,

Ernst

Reaction score
Welcome, Ernst!

For the price range, you're going to be hard-pressed to find a decent keyboard. I'd think that with a decent MIDI controller (and I've heard the KeyStation 88 is one; really, though, try it yourself before you buy it if you can).

For software, look here. You'll need, at least a DAW (if you're a Mac-user, you've already got GarageBand; if you use PC, Reaper is really cheap) to record and to host instruments, and a piano plugin (there's a good free one on that page by Tascam, I believe).