Keyboard suggestion?

rrr

Reaction score
I'm just beginning to learn to play the piano, so it's time to buy one.
I'd like to buy a digital piano, but there are zillions of them out there... so I'm not sure where to start looking... can someone suggest a couple??

Here is what I'm looking for:
1) I want the keys to feel the same as a real piano (size, action, weight, etc)... what is the difference between "full weighted" and "graded" keys?
2) I want to have the 3 basic piano pedals
3) Since I do some basic recording (using GuitarPro), I'd like a USB output from the keyboard.
4) I'd like lots of synth sounds (strings, horns, maybe a built in drum machine, etc) to help with recording... I presume that there is a big difference between keyboards on the sound quality here... comments?
5) a full 88 keys would be nice
7) I'd like to keep it under $750 or so

Any suggestions?
thanks!

Reaction score
A used Yamaha S90 would probably fit the bill for what you need... I think they're going for about 1K though - a bit of "budget creep" for you but still, it's a quality instrument.

Another good one to look at is the new Casio Privia PX320 -
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PX320

...not quite as full-featured as the Yam. S90 but less expensive. :)

Reaction score
Well, since you plan to use the pc and Guitar Pro, you could just got a 88key weighter controller(just the keys, no sound generating ability, uses midi to tell other devices what sounds to make) and the pedals for it and play through the pc(you can get some really nice sounds for the pc, but I don't know much about that) or get a sound module.

Graded means that the lower keys are slightly heavier than the higher keys much like a real piano.

Yes, generally, the pricier a keyboard the better the sound, but that also depends on the selling point. Different makes also have various strong a weak points depending on the sound.

Reaction score