Looking for a keyboard that is at least as good as a Technics KN6500

Reaction score
I have been using a Technics KN6500 for over ten years and have loved the sounds and rhythms it comes with. But it is getting long in the tooth as am I. I wonder if there is another keyboard to consider buying with at least as good sounds and rhythms. I play background music for a non-profit organization called Operation Shoebox. Hundreds of volunteers gather every Monday to assemble care packages for our deployed troops. I love what I am doing but am beginning to hear problems with the quality of the sounds of my keyboard. I don't care what brand name keyboard I buy as long as it is at least as good as my Technics KN6500. You can send any suggestions to (e-mail address removed).

Reaction score
"as good as" can be subjective and can vary with in what respect you are comparing them (e.g. you might prefer the bossa nova style on one and the tango style on another; you might prefer the piano on one and the guitars on another; you might prefer some particular feature or real-time control that one has that another doesn't; you might or might not care about sound editing abilities; etc. etc.).

But regardless, without limiting yourself to responses from people who are familiar with the KN6500, the main manufacturers of higher end arranger keyboards these days are Yamaha and Korg. Depending on where you are, maybe Ketron too. Each make a range of models, and of course, their more expensive ones will have advantages over their less expensive ones.

Your Technics had aftertouch, which is a nice function for expressivity, is that important to you? That will reduce your options, since that feature is not so common these days. The only current or recent Yamaha would be Genos/Genos 2, and the Korgs to look at would be PA1000, PA4x, PA5x.

Reaction score
Totally depends upon your budget but even then your choice is very, very limited.

There are three price range options:-

About £1200