Looking to buy a new synth.

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm looking to buy a new synth. I used to have a Yamaha S03 which was great at first, but then moved on to a roland JV-1080 with the orchestral card. Sounded GREAT for what i need synths for.

I'm not sure how familiar everyone is with the genre but I play power metal in a band so I don't exactly need crazy/strange synth sounds. Mainly harpsichords, strings and a good lead sound.

I've never had a workstation so I have no experience, I was wondering what my choices were. I've sold my JV-1080 and the Yamaha DX7IIFD I had been using to control the JV, got tired of having to bring the very heavy DX7.. PLUS the JV module and all the cables.

So I've been looking at the Korg M50 which seems brilliant for the job, but I've just found out about the MOX6, It's only a bit more expensive and the m50 is like 3 years older. Then there's also the Juno Di/Gi and kurzweil PC3, And I dont know if i should be spending less money though, as I was fine with the old Yamaha S03, it was just the sounds, they werent that good. I've looked at the Korg x50 but it looks hideous to me and so does the yamaha MM6

Note: Keyboard action and build quality are definitely not a priority. I would also be needing to switch patches/programs quick on a live situation. Though for this, I'm considering the Behringer FCB1010.

I also purchased a Roland Lucina which was a HUGE dissapointment, being used to the S03 and the JV1080, I thought a keyboard this modern (lucina) would at least let me combine two patches. I cant even play a simple harpsichord+strings patch...

Reaction score
The M50-61 and the MOX6 are pretty much the same price here in the UK. Which one is better is really a matter of personal preference. Yamaha traditionally have a reputation for being good at sounds of real instruments like harpsichord and strings, whereas Korg have a reputation more for "synth"-type sounds.