midi controller help

Reaction score
Hi folks, A moment of your time would be appreciated.

Due to having a pregnant wife and having to move in the very near future, I just sold my dearly loved 50" Kawai studio upright piano. Loved that piano, but it weighs a ton and I need the money.

I am completely new to the keyboard world, but have been reading furiously for the last couple of days to understand the options.

My number one priority is to have a realistic graded and weighted keyboard action. I won't be recording or gigging or anything like that. Just tooling around at home and pretending to be Elton John but without the ridiculous body suit and glasses.

My second priority is that it sound awesome.

I don't care about any buttons/knobs/sliders or sequencers/recorders, any of that stuff.

At first I thought I wanted a digital piano, but everything I have read in general indicates disappointment with the built in speakers, especially if you are accustomed to playing a real piano, so I would probably want to use a couple of studio monitors or amps or something to get a big loud stereo sound space.

Then I found out about these things called virtual pianos, where you can be playing a sampled steinway grand or alicia keys yamaha c3

So what I'm wondering is,

Is there a plain old 88 key midi controller with graded weighted hammer action that I can run into my laptop running one of those virtual pianos, and then out to a couple of decent studio monitors or amps?

All for under $1,000 USD? :)

Is there anyone else out there doing something like this?

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Thanks for the link. I guess I really need to get off the couch and try some of these out.
Do I need something special to get the sound from my laptop to the amp? Or just plug into the headphone jack?

The Y_man

Reaction score
Thanks for the link. I guess I really need to get off the couch and try some of these out.