Midi keyboard suggestion for a beginner to edm production

Reaction score
Hey guys,
As the title says, im looking for a good Midi keyboard but i have NO prior experience with one nor do i know how to play a piano (i am a guitarist) and I have no clue how to start as a music producer. My heart and soul has always been to make edm. I did realized by researching that i need to start off with: a good laptop, a good DAW and of course a midi controller/keyboard. I am on a tight budget. Here in India my budget is around 10000 to 12000 ( around $205). I really confused weather i need 25 or 49 keys, fetures like faders and knobs etc. I recently got interested in this samson graphite 49 midi keyboard; is it a good one or are there better ones for cheaper?
I really need help guys, as a noob to music production i am really confused!! Please help me!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I'd recommend 49 keys and you won't find much decent for less money. I have no experience with the Samson but some of the reviews I've seen on the web are mixed about things like build quality, design features, lack of a power adapter and poor documentation.

I can, however, speak from experience about the M-Audio Oxygen 49 which sells for about the same money and while mine is ok for screwing around on the laptop while I'm watching TV in the living room, I'd never try and compose anything serious on it. The keyboard on the Oxygen is pretty much crap and skips notes like nobody's business even with velocity sensitivity turned off.

The Novation Launchkey 49 also sells around that price mark and seems to have much better reviews.

http://www.amazon.ca/Novation-Launchkey-Keyboard-Controller-Synth-weighted/dp/B00B9QONQQ

http://www.rajmusical.com/novation-launchkey-49-keyboard-controller.html

Novation also has a long history in producing MIDI controllers and generally have a good reputation.

Gary