Need Assistance. What MIDI Controller keyboard for Roland U20 keyboard with Alesis MMT8 Sequencer ?

Reaction score
Hello, back in the 90's I sequenced a lot of material I want to bring back to life.
I used a Roland U20 keyboard , sequenced it all on an Alesis MMT8 and saved all the material on a Midi Disc drive to floppy disks.

All the midi data is in old Sys Ex format. The problem is that many keys no longer work on the Roland, so I plan to get a Midi controller 61 key keyboard to take the place of the Roland keys. I've never done this before, so I assume you run a midi out cable ( not USB) from the Midi controller to the Roland and from there, run a Midi out from the Roland to the Midi IN on the Alesis MMT8 like I used to do. To run the Roland keyboard, You go MIDI out from the MMT8 sequencer back into the MIDI IN on the Roland. There's no reason that the Midi Controller needs to have a MIDI IN jack is there ?

I need to go cheap, so is there a MIDI Controller 61 keyboard that you'd recommend me looking at ?

Thanks !
Jim

Reaction score
Sorry but wrong requirements, “cheap” does not work, been there tried them and they suck.

I have an M Audio Oxygen the Pro version, it has a semi weighted keybed which feels as good as my top of the range Korg keybed.

Reaction score
Sorry but wrong requirements, “cheap” does not work, been there tried them and they suck.

I have an M Audio Oxygen the Pro version, it has a semi weighted keybed which feels as good as my top of the range Korg keybed.
Thanks.. The cheap ones don't last or what are some of the complaints ?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
For your purposes it all depends on whether you are an experienced player or whether you are just tapping a few musical phrases into your sequencers.

Biggles is a bit of a keyboard snob these days ever since he sank his grandkids' college fund into a $5000 keyboard :p ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score