New to keys - My first 'real' keyboard - JUNO DS61, and some questions...

Reaction score
I am new to keyboards - my band does a lot of Floyd stuff, and I am the guitarist that is on keyboard duty. I have been using a MicroKORG live, but it isn't cutting it - so I ordered my first real keyboard, the Roland DS61 at the recommendation of a good fellow here on the board.

So far, I have learned:
1. How to change the color of the lights in the pads (lol)
2. Add sounds to favorite buttons
3. Save changes to stock sounds so they can be added to favorites
4. Make, save, and add split sounds to favorite buttons.
5. How to use a USB thumb drive to trigger sound effects (like alarm clocks for 'Time').
6. How to use my Ernie Ball volume pedal as an expression pedal
7. How to assign to the expression pedal different things (cutoff, effects, etc.)

I am trying to figure out:
1. How to get my hold pedal to work on the organs like it does on the pianos (hold and fade out as opposed to holding the entire time I am pressing the pedal).
2. How to assign different effects to the expression pedal depending on the patch as opposed to globally to the entire keyboard.
3. (This is a big one) How can I get a split patch I created to hold with the sustain pedal while I switch patches the way a regular (not split patch) will.

I posted something similar on a Roland forum, but there isn't a lot of traffic over there, it seems.

I'm sure there will be much more! Anybody have any tips and tricks?

Reaction score
Hi Big Jilm,

1. Ain't gonna happen without some intervention by yourself. To make the organ fade out like the piano does you'll have to get into the patch itself and decrease the sustain time, which will also impact the way the note sounds when you simply hold the key down. To be honest, this may not be entirely desirable for organ sounds.