Playing notes on Leger Lines, how?

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

First of all, English is not my native language, but I hope you'll be able to understand my questions anyway. :)

Yesterday I bought myself a keyboard. I never played an insturment before, nor learned to read musical notes at school. So I started learning notes first from the lesson book which I bought aswell to learn the basic stuff.

But I'm stuck at some point already! xD I really can't figure it out myself so I wonder if anyone here could help me out.

The lessonbook I use is called "Organ & Keyboard - New Style" and in the lessons, they speak about both instruments, which is kinda confusing, but okay. Often, they speak about pedals, which I -ofcourse- don't have. I guess I have to press some keys on the left hand side of my keyboard to get the pedal effect?

So I started playing some easy stuff from the first few pages of the book. The problem is that sometimes they want me to play notes which are above the normal 5 lines of the Bass Clef, but still under the Treble Clef, so somewhere in the middle, on the Leger Lines. But I can't play these notes because I will hit the keys in the Treble Clef. There's not enough space between the Bass and the Treble to play those notes on the leger lines.

To make you clear what I mean, I scanned a music sheet which I'm trying to play now.
r7oi2c.jpg

So how do I play these notes on the lowest bar? I don't have a clue. :(
Also, what is the difference between the "C" and the "G7" (on top)? Does this have something to do with the finger positions?

Hopefully someone can help me out so I can continue with my book, thanks!

Richie

(sorry for my other topic, it was a mistake.)

Reaction score
First the easy part: The "C" and the "G7" on top are chord symbols. The "C" means a C major triad... the G7 is a dominant seventh G chord. If you don't know what those mean, that's ok for now. It just tells you what chord is being played in the left hand at this point.