Psychedelic organ style/arps

A

Amon

Hello!

I'm new to the orgain (played piano for a couple of years) but I'm wanting to try playing/improvising in that 60s, psychedlic style that sounds sort of like a calliope (like the intro to The Doors Light My Fire).

Here's a couple of other examples:

Is there a sort of method to this playing? Like if I just wanted to do a simple IV-V-I progression, is there a sort of pattern to the arp I play with the right hand, or specific scale?

Thanks!

A

A

Amon

Hey, Dave! That's an interesting clip with a blues-style organ in it, however I'm inquiring about the 60s psychedelic/baroque pop sound, are they the same thing as far as scales go?

Perhaps I should be more clear, I'm wondering if anyone knows of a reading reference or can tell me more about the method of the playing style I gave examples of, which seems to be a sort of arp-based fingering style.

Thanks!

Tom

Reaction score
Here’s one of Billy playing psychedelic 60’s music:

Hmm, very similar to the first video. The point I was trying to make is that it’s about feel and rhythm, not about something you read about. My advice, watch, listen and learn.

A

Amon

Thanks, Dave. However, that's blues scales again, not what I'm talking about. You might want to give reading a shot, as musical notation can show you the difference between blues scales and pentatonic scales. Also terms like "Baroque pop" can be found on wikipedia. Whereas blues rock is more something you can find at a sports bar. I think that's where the disconnect is. I appreciate the attempt to help though, Take care.

Reaction score