RD-300GX drums on midi channel 10 plays piano!

Reaction score
Newb here and maybe I should post this in the midi forum?

Anyways, I have an RD-300GX and I'm trying to use it to play live, but also have accompaniment and/or drums coming from my PC with a midi program. Whatever midi program I use, I can't get the GX to play drum sounds even though I set the pc to play on channel 10 If I send a program change message on channel 10 I can change from piano to other patches to play, just not drums (which I don't think even have a program number).
I've hooked up other keyboards to the midi cables and they play drums on ch.10 fine. I've also used the USB/MIDI connection built into the GX with the same results.

I'm fairly new to midi, but is the GX even capable of playing drums on channel 10 from midi? Sure would like to know how. Thanks!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
The DRUMS = CHANNEL 10 thing is really a General MIDI Level 1 (GM, or GM1) requirement, since the GM1 specifications didn't have Bank Select messages. So in GM1 you're limited to 128 Program Change numbers for the "melodic" instruments-- i.e., the ones where each Note event plays a different pitch. And since there is no Program Change number for the drum kit, there's no way to select between a melodic instrument and the drum kit, hence the drum kit is exclusively assigned to channel 10, such that the drum kit cannot be played on any of the other channels, and none of the melodic instruments can be played on channel 10.