So .... are you a "single fingered" or a "fingered" player ?

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a novice player and I was wondering if all you experienced folks out there play fingered chords with your left hand or do any of you just use the one finger perchance ?

The tutor books I've looked at seem to suggest that it's better to do fingered chords right from the beginning.

But:

Is there actually any difference in the sound ??

Does it matter which you do REALLY ????

Would appreciate your thoughts and experiences on this matter which is of great importance to me at the mo - 'cos I'm strugglin' with fingered chords !!!!

Thanks
Bertie:)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I tend to "cheat" a bit. I use a computer sequencer to lay down multiple tracks of counterpoint rhythms one at a time. My right hand moves pretty quickly but I still have mobility issues with coordinating my left at the same time. I'm still working on improving my style but I'll be the first to admit that I don't have nearly enough time to practice as much as I should ;)

Gary

The Y_man

Reaction score
If the keyboard supports one finger Chording - then there is no difference on that keyboard BUUUUT different manufacturers have different "one fingering" methods - eg getting a minor chord in "one finger mode" (which actually requires 2 fingers) on a Casio is different from Yamaha. So if you are suddenly asked to play another brand form the one you are used to, you could be in a situation. Full fingered will work anywhere.

I learned one finger on a Casio, before going to a Yamaha. Rather than relearn the Yamaha one finger method, I thought I might as well get myself to go full fingered. It also helps if you play multi-fingered right hand too of course, because you'll know the structure of the chords.

Take it easy - start on the "white key" chords - C-major, F-major, G-major, A-minor, D-minor, E-minor