Split keyboards

Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to keyboards I have a yamaha e463 As you'll know it has auto accompaniment which is great. I learn a few chords for the left hand and play melody with the right. I'm learning with Kenneth Baker's Complete Keyboard player Great. But I want to learn to play the piano properly on it and different chords are used for the electronic keyboard and the piano For example on the auto accompaninent, the C chord is G, C and E with the G starting 5th key from the left When learning piano, C chord is C, E and F with the C key being one below middle C.

Is there any way I can use the piano chords for both please ? It seems daft having to learn two different chords

Many thanks

Aidan

Reaction score
I'll try to make it clearer. And yes I made a mistake - sorry The yamaha keyboard I have can be used as a piano. When playing the piano I use the notes C E G to form a left hand chord of C. See photo entitled C Chord symbol.

When I play using the auto accompaniment, I have to use different notes on the left hand to form a C chord. See photo entitled C accompaniment section.

Learning two different sets of chords seems pointless to me. I'd like to be able to use the piano chords for everything. Hope that's clearer. Thanks

Attachments

• 20180716_150153.jpg
    20180716_150153.jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 351
  • 20180716_150216.jpg
    20180716_150216.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 340
Reaction score
Look again. Both are showing a C-E-G chord. One of them is what is called a 2nd inversion, with the fifth (G) on the bottom, followed by the C and finally the E on top. No F's are being played.
Maybe this will help you:
C E G, E G C, C G E, E C G , G E C, and G C E are all C major chords.

Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score