Suggestions for a budget 88 key with an arpeggiator?

Reaction score
I'm a beginner making my first purchase. I've been advised that I might as well get an 88 key to start with for various reasons. However, I'm also after a keyboard that has numerous synth sounds and an arpeggiator. It seems many of the cheaper 88 keys only have 5-10 tones which will get monotonous fast. I don't want to hook up extra hardware to add more voices.

The Casio CDP-220 / 230 was looking like an ideal buy, but then I heard a couple demos of it on YouTube and I was less impressed with the voices. Compared to other Yamahas I heard in a similar (and cheaper) price range, the Casio seemed to sound inferior.

Does anyone have any other suggestions that might fit my criteria?

thanks

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Care to volunteer a number for max budget? If you can swing $925 you should consider the Casio PX-5S Stage Piano. Even so you'd still need to invest an extra $100 for a used amp and patch cable, but you'd have a professional quality instrument with tons of great synth sounds and something you couldn't possibly outgrow for decades to come.

Starting with the best doesn't always cost an arm and a leg. ;)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-list...401144210&sr=8-1&keywords=px-5s&condition=new

Reaction score
Thank you very much for your suggestion. It's hard to give a dollar amount because of the large price difference between countries. For instance, my first thought was the Yamaha e433 which goes for $250 in the US. Here in Australia it goes for $400.

The casio 220 is about $640 USD here and I really don't want to spend more. So l'd be looking at it or its competitors.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If ya want 88 keys and decent synth sounds your only real choices are the Yamaha DGX-640 or DGX-520 which are both inferior to the Casio PX-5S.

Otherwise anything with 88 keys under $500 will give you about 24 sounds tops.

happyrat1