Testing a Roland MKB-300 before buying

Reaction score
I know someone selling a Roland MKB-300 keyboard controller, but he has nothing to test it with. There is no sound module connected (he doesn't have one), but he says there are sounds stored on the keyboard itself.
I am new to MIDI and rack synths, but want to get into it. How do I test this keyboard before I buy it?
There are no audio out jacks on the keyboard, I downloaded the manual to check out what connections are available.
Should I get a MIDI in/out to USB cable? That would get the signal to the PC, but it still wouldn't be audio.
What is the cheapest way to test it? I don't want to buy a bunch of equipment before I check it out.
I have an o-scope. I guess I could check the digital signal out of the MIDI jack.
Thanks for your help!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Cheapest way to test it is to buy a $5 USB MIDI Class Compliant Interface and plug it into a computer running a freeware VSTi.

Sound will be output on the computer's speakers. Good enough for a basic test.

Checking out the specs, I can guarantee there are no built in sounds. Instead it can store the digital control data for up to 128 patches but those patches would still depend on a hardware sound module like a Roland Sound Canvas or a computer based VSTi.

Google any terms I may have used that you don't understand and you will find exactly what you need.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Cheapest way to test it is to buy a $5 USB MIDI Class Compliant Interface and plug it into a computer running a freeware VSTi.

Sound will be output on the computer's speakers. Good enough for a basic test.

Checking out the specs, I can guarantee there are no built in sounds. Instead it can store the digital control data for up to 128 patches but those patches would still depend on a hardware sound module like a Roland Sound Canvas or a computer based VSTi.