unable to save OTS settings on my Yammy!

Reaction score
After a few years away from the keyboard I got it out again with the intention of teaching myself piano now the Kids are a bit older. So I cleared a space , set up my chair, headphones at the ready. Got a couple of pieces in my head ready to play and so began playing. But I don't like the amount of reverb on the Portable Grand, and I also like to knock it down an octave. So I set it all up, good to go then download the manual cost I recycled mine ages ago, I noticed nothing was saving. Now I've had the thing nearly 14 years so if there's a battery in there it must be toast by now, but is it user replaceable? I have some basic electronics knowledge (NVQ) and its a PSR 225.

Cheers
Larry

Reaction score
Happyrat, yea I know it takes D type for power but Im talking about a backup battery, like the type you find in watches. Crikey if Id got D type batteries in after 14 years the keyboard would be cooked! Ive only ever used a power supply.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Read page 105. It says it ONLY saves settings if the AC is connected or D Batteries are installed. There is NO backup battery :)

Reaction score
Thing is Ive never used batteries in it yet I have saved songs on it in the past, so there must be some kind of memory back up in there.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If you can't look it up yourself here's the quote from the manual, in black and white.

DATA BACKUP & INITIALIZATION
Except for the data listed below, all PSR-225 panel settings are reset to their initial settings
whenever the power is turned on. The data listed below are backed up — i.e. retained in
memory — as long as an AC adaptor is connected or a set of batteries is installed.
• User Song Data
• User One Touch Setting Data
• One Touch Setting Bank Number
• EZ Chord Data
• EZ Chord Bank Number Data
• Smart Chord Number
• Metronome Volume
• Touch On/Off
• Touch Sensitivity
• Split Point