Where to go from here?

3dc

Reaction score
Help me think :)
Right now I am still learning music theory and how to play music on my E463 but I am also experimenting with sample based DAW production. I am also realizing the limitations of my E463 so I am looking for new long term directions or upgrades. BTW I ditched Reaper DAW for Ableton Live 90 days trial. Music production on Live is way, waaaaay easier then Reaper.

Now the question is where to go from beginner stage?

Which rabbit hole to choose: DAW sample based production or something else. There is this DAWLESS option but I don't like it due to enormous amount of cables, modules, options and especially high prices. I really love the idea of music keyboard with speakers but apparently professional arrangers are severely limited with sounds and recording capabilities. I am also told they are rarely used for modern dance music production since none of them are equipped with basic synthesizer.

So is that it? DAW, MIDI controller and samples or there is another option?
Thanks for suggestions and help.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
You can use your PSR-E463 as a keyboard controller while you shop around for a keyboard controller with more controls. I assume you're already doing that, but my point is that you can take your time picking out the controller of your dreams, rather than rushing into a choice that you might regret. :)

3dc

Reaction score
Thanks for suggestion @SeaGtGruff. I am already using my E463 in DAW but its severely limited as MIDI controller. You can't map a volume knob to master volume in DAW. But I still love it for its intended purposes. You turn off the PC and you can practice or learn on it in peace. I also use it for sound monitoring. Impressive and nice sound for only 2x6 watts output.