Choosing My First Keyboard

Reaction score
I've been doing some research, but I have zero musical background. I've come up with a list of features I'd like my keyboard to have. I checked out some top 10 blog lists and read some user reviews, and I figured that the Casio PX-850. My budget is $1,000 or less.

I'd buy a grand piano (for the sound) if I could afford it. The way they use vibrating wires on this model really sells "recreating the sound of a grand" idea to me. Their marketing video makes me feel like I might believe I'm playing a real piano if I close my ears.

So I'm here to essentially check with those who would know. Is this the best purchase I could make for the $1,000? Any help, feedback, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!! ^_^

Why Am I Playing
I am 35. Long time music lover and audiophile. Music is one of the few common threads running throughout my life. I've decided to fully dedicate myself to learning the piano. I'm not looking for a hobby. I want to get very proficient at an instrument and the Piano is my vehicle of choice.

Above all else, I want to be able to create emotionally evocative music. The quality of sound is very important to me. My primary interest is in learning to play classical pieces and to be able to make recordings of my playing and singing.

What Features Am I Looking For
  • Must have MIDI Out Port and USB support as a controller.
  • Velocity Sensitive keys
  • Aftertouch. Polyphonic Aftertouch a plus.
  • Full size keys, 88-key, high quality keys (synthetic ivory sounds nice), full weighted hammer action
  • Automapping (optional, but a big plus)
  • Pedal support (Expression Pedals?)
  • Faders, Knobs, Sliders, and Pads (not sure how important these are)
  • The ability to play away from my PC. I know speakers are often low quality, so not sure if it is really a viable expectation in my current price range.
Questions