Fantom - Removing Synth Models before EX Upgrade?

Joined
Dec 26, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I have a Fantom 6 and I had installed the Jupiter 8, Juno 106, JX-8P and SH-101 models which were available as a promotion I think when the synth was first released. These are also accompanied by expansions for presets I presume. Since the EX upgrade has ACB versions of the Jupiter 8 and SH-101 I would like to uninstall the earlier versions as I don't see any point of having both versions taking up memory space. Does anyone know how top do this? Thanks
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
If we're talking about software upgrades, I think you just overwrite the bank you don't want.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Thank you happyrat1 - I'll keep your comments in mind. But surely there's a way to remove models you don't want or need. Anyway I do appreciate your response and assistance.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
I had a Juno DS a few years back and there was no procedure to remove a writeable bank.

You simply loaded the new one over it.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Thanks happyrat1 but I'm not referring only to the banks but also the models themselves. There's no point having two Jupiter 8s and two SH-101s when the ones that come with the EX upgrade are superior. Surely there must be a way to uninstall models that are not needed or wanted. Hopefully someone might know how to actually uninstall models.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
If it's a firmware thing, then as I said, reset the machine and restore the firmware you want.

Contact Roland if you think I'm wrong.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
It's just the usual way things are done. Uninstalls are few and far between on most keyboards.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
14,110
Messages
87,209
Members
13,174
Latest member
sfz5

Latest Threads

Top