Guitarist needs help with an Arranging Keyboard Recommendation

Reaction score
I am a guitarist who wants to do horn arranging on a keyboard (sax, trumpet and trombone). I am doing demos and arranging songs for horns and I want a keyboard where I can experiment composing different horn parts.

So, ideally I would like to be able to start with a programmable drum machine on the keyboard. I'm not sure if stock drum patterns will work even though the songs are really simple country and blues songs. Do any keyboards have programmable drum machines on them? I'd like to compose to a click track, but could work with existing patterns as long as they have decent shuffles, strolls and waltzes.

I know I also need a sequencer to record to on the keyboard. And it is also important that I can add tracks externally, i.e. not played on the keyboard such as real guitar (either mic'd or direct in) and vocals. Do any keyboards fit this description. I can't seem to find anything, but then again, maybe many of the arranging keyboards can do what I need. Sound quality obviously isn't important just a keyboard that will do what I want to do. I don't want an expensive workstation. A smaller one would be great. Thanks!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Tyros 4 is way out of his budget.

He pretty much specified he wanted to keep it cheap and cheerful :D

Gary ;)

Reaction score
I had a Korg Microarranger around, $500. Small only 10 pounds, keys are small too. Lots of nice styles similar to the older pa1x.

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
The disadvantage to the Microarranger are the microkeys. IF you want to play keyboards, you might want to stick with normal sized keys. That way you learn the right habits. (I.e. this is how an octave feels. This is how to play a major chord. Etc.)