Hammond and Leslie questions/options

Reaction score
So I'm looking to upgrade my rig and starting to seriously think about going the Hammond/Leslie route. I'm looking at the XK3 and I'm wondering if it's worth it to upgrade to the XK-3C. I'm not a techie so it's hard for me to understand if the differences warrant the extra cost. I'm also not a gear snob so I have a hunch that I might not even notice a difference unless it's a fairly big upgrade.

As for the Leslie, I found a good combo deal that includes a 2101. Surprisingly, I can't find much online regarding the differences between the 2101 and the mk2 and have no idea if it's worth the upgrade.

I want an awesome sounding organ, and am willing to spend money if it's worth it for said upgrades. Ultimately I want to stay in the price range of the above equipment. If it matters, I play hard rock/metal, and also do more mellow, jam rock stuff on the side.

Thanks for any help!

Reaction score
XK3 vs XK3c: two largest improvements of the xk3c:
- Splitting the vibrato/chorus (like a B3) between two manuals. Currently the XK3 functions like an L Series: vibrato/chorus on/off for both manuals, i.e. can't be turned on independently by manual; XK3c it can (like a B3)
- Improved leslie simulation. XK3 leslie sucks; XK3c is much improved but, unfortunately, still not great.

2101 vs MK2: 2101 50watts/channel to the outputs, MK2 75watts/channel to the outputs; I think there was also some improved routing capabilities of the inputs.

for both above, those are the highlights; there are other improvements but those are the biggest. Personally, unless the splitting of the V/C is a deal breaker for you, I'd personally go with the XK3 with a Neo Ventilator doing the leslie. I was going to purchase the 2101/MK2 until I used a friend’s Vent; I purchased the Vent and it sounds every bit as good as the 2101. It is also way cheaper and way smaller.