hardware knobs

Reaction score
Hi, first post noob here, trying to figure out which keyboard to get that's the least amount of trouble with hard-set knobs being wrong when switching sound banks...

For instance, I choose a sound bank, move the knobs so it sounds the way I like, save it, then switch to another bank and set the knobs the way I like, then switch back to the 1st bank and it sounds different than I programmed it because the knobs are adjusted for the 2nd bank...

On a DAW, the knob positions are remembered and automatically switch back when you switch banks, but that seems to be virtually impossible on most or all hardware keyboards.

Any advice? I'd prefer to use hardware keyboards due the ease of changing knob positions with my fingers as opposed to with a mouse or touchpad (which is far slower for me, even using a touchscreen like in GarageBand on the iPad), but I haven't found one I can afford that either automatically moves the knobs back in position when I switch banks or that keeps the sound effects the knobs provided even though the knobs are in different positions than originally.

Reaction score
For instance, I choose a sound bank, move the knobs so it sounds the way I like, save it, then switch to another bank and set the knobs the way I like, then switch back to the 1st bank and it sounds different than I programmed it because the knobs are adjusted for the 2nd bank...
That doesn't happen on any keyboard I've ever owned. Unless I'm not understanding.

Reaction score
Set up your first sound and save it to a Registration or Favorite or Performance or whatever your particular keyboard calls them. All of your settings will be saved. Then set up your second sound and do the same. All of those settings will be saved. Then, just switch Registrations or Favorites or Performances, etc instead of switching sounds. That should solve you problem.

Reaction score
Sorry, Cowboy !