Help with keyboard purchase.

Reaction score
Firstly, I'm new here so bonjour to all of you and please excuse any errors in my English.

I'm a pianist by trade playing solo gigs on either electric or acoustic piano, lots of weddings, restaurants, soirées etc., mostly playing standards, chanson and latin. When I'm working on electric piano (it's an elderly P120) I often feel that it would be useful to be able to add rhythm (drums and bass mostly) for when people want to dance, so I am considering an arranger keyboard to use with the P120. I'm not at all interested in using sequenced parts, recording etc,, I just want to be able to play chords in the left hand and get a reasonably realistic accompaniment.

I'd be equally happy with a keyboardless piece of equipment to which I could attach the P120 by MIDI if such a thing is available but I really don't want to use a laptop on stage.

So I have searched on the internet and come away fairly confused about what I should get and would welcome suggestions.

Many thanks,

Jean-Claude

I ought perhaps to have said that I would like to be able to try this without breaking the bank, maybe up to 600€.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Bonjour Jean Claude de votre amis au Canada... ;)

Off hand I'd say that you don't really require another keyboard. You could do just fine with a typical rhythm machine like the

Alesis SR-18 http://alesis.com/sr18

or the Zoom RT223 http://www.zoom.co.jp/products/rt223

or the Korg Electribe http://www.korg.com/us/products/dj/electribe/

Any one of those units would serve you well as full accompaniment for your playing for a few hundred dollars. Check them out on Youtube to see which one would best suit your budget and playing style.

Salut Bien et je souhaite un Bonne Annee a vous!

Gary ;)

Reaction score
T'es gentil mais quand même....