Help with 88 keys midi keyboard purchase! (budget/amateur)

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I hope you could help me with finding a suitable midi keyboard which suits my needs. I made a quick search for similar topics without finding anything that specifically answer my questions, however please excuse me if this is already answered elsewhere.

Okay, I'm a hobby musician mainly playing keys. I used to play on a Korg Triton (very nice keys before they stopped responding), and for the last years I have been using a M-audio keystation 49 midi keyboard together with Ableton and vst's, mainly spectrasonics atmosphere and Massive. I prefer using presets, my knowledge about tweaking/making sounds are minimal. I like playing ambient stuff, piano, orchestral, and adding atmosphere/effects to field recordings.
I have finally decided to buy a 88 key midi keyboard and I am thinking of going a little bit deeper into the tweaking part of the vst's. Since I find it utterly frustrating using a mouse turning knobs in the software, I would like a midi keyboard with some faders and knobs, tweaking stuff like cut-off's and LFO's. My budget is about €3-400. I have been looking at the M-audio oxygen 88 as it got some knobs/faders and the keys seem pretty decent. Another option is buying the cheap M-audio keystation 88 + a dedicated midi controller with knobs, but if the keys are the same quality as the keystation 49 I would prefer something a little bit more weighed/piano-like. The M-audio keystation pro 88 seems kinda nice. but I cant find it in any norwegian stores. Could it be this is a discontinued model by manufacturer? Do you have any experiences using any of these keyboards or other suggestions that will suit my needs?
I am of course also open to other brands, and maybe stretching my budget a little if great value/quality are to be gained I am very grateful for any help!!

Reaction score