I want to learn

Reaction score
I'm new to keyboards and pianos. I really want to learn how to play and am looking to purchase a new keyboard.

I've searched on Amazon and found a number of affordable keyboards but am not sure what makes one better than the other. For example, I notice that some have more keys than others. Is it important to get the one that has more keys?

Here are some that I found and any input on these would be greatly appreciated.

Casio CTK-2000 Premium Pack (comes with stand, power supply, headset)

Casio CTK-3000 Premium Pack (comes with stand, power supply, headset)

Casio LK100 Lighted Keyboard Premium Pack (comes with stand, power supply, headset)

Yamaha EZ200 61 Full-Sized Touch Sensitive Lighted Keys Bundle (comes with stand, power supply, headset)

Or if you have any other keyboards that you think are good I'd love to hear about them.

Thanks

Reaction score
'
It's always nice to see someone who's eager to learn, but to be honest with you these type of keyboards

are not much more than toys..... which is all you'll get in that sort of price range .

Out of the ones you listed, the Yamaha is probably the best option.

Good luck.

Reaction score
I would not recommend these models if you want to play in a professionnal band next month. But if you are a beginner, why not? I'm always amazed when somebody pays several hundreds dollars for a brand new, high quality musical instrument, then tries to learn "Twinkle, twinkle little star" with it, and eventually lose interest. Begin with something affordable, and upgrade while you improve your skills!

If you want to take lessons: it would be better to take some buying advice from the teacher first. (I still remember the reaction of my classical guitar teacher when I entered the room with my brand new...western guitar!)