keyboard amp - exclusively piano

Reaction score
I'm a pianist with a strong classical background/technique and want to record and do some gigging either solo or with a good jazz drummer I've been playing in a duo with. I'd been using a Yamaha p-250 which I found decent and am fairly set on moving to cp33 (much lighter! and somewhat newer) which from research sounds like it might be the best bet for my price range. Now I'm looking for an amp or powered speakers that will give a realistic piano sound (piano is all I do and probably will do). From what I've read the Mackie 12 thumps sound like they might be the way to go. I've looked through the various forums but most of the posts are five years old or so, so I'm looking for suggestions.

Reaction score
+1 on above posts. I've a Behringer B210D - similar quality to the Mackie Thumps - ok for just about everything except piano.

The EV mentioned first (ZLX12P) in the post above is the current favourite price/quality compromise over on "The Keyboard Corner" (another forum). I've recently acquired an EV ZXa1 fo the sort of gig you're talking about. Very light, sounds good for piano but not very loud.

@delaware dave did you get a chance to A/B the more expensive EV (that you have) against the newer ZLX12P?

@DavidR - in addition to the (older) CP33 it may be worth checking out the newer Casio PX-5S (light and inexpensive) and the newer Yamaha (heavier but not too bad) CP4 and CP40.

Welcome to the forum btw.

Reaction score
@delaware dave, did you get a chance to A/B the more expensive EV (that you have) against the newer ZLX12P?