Need Help With Equipping My One Man Band. Sequencer? MIDI? Something Else?

Reaction score
I am a guitarist from the old school who plays 40'-60's country and pop. Gigs are paying so little these days I am stripping down to a one-man-band. I have never understood keyboard technology, but I think the time has come. I'll try and explain what I want to do and hopefully some knowledgeable people on this Forum can steer me in the right direction.

I want to play to recorded tracks with live vocals and guitar.
I want to start songs with a footswitch
I want to have a variety of backing tracks including backup vocals, strings, horns, etc. I don't care about effects or the ability to tweak them.

Here's a tricky part: Ideally, I would use a drummer to make my drum tracks using V-drums. I have used drum machines, but I can't get them to sound natural at all and I would rather have a live drummer's tracks. Would we use the MIDI out from the V-drums and import the MIDI files into a sequencer?

Am I going to be playing everything back from a sequencer, which will be like a tape machine playing the backing tracks? Will I record backing vocals straight into the sequencer?

Do I need a keyboard for a sequencer? I would only need the keys to play the horn/string parts so ideally it will be small. I want to keep my setup to a minimum. Do I need some kind of software to record to, or will a keyboard sequencer work for that?

Do I have to record to a click track?

Thanks for the help if you read this far!!!!

Reaction score
What a question!

Probably the first place to start is to ask you questions.

How PC literate are you?

Can you use a DAW?

You can use a dedicated drum machine but then for backing rytham section that is another matter.

Then there is the question if what you want to transport around with you?

What is your maximum budget?