Nubee Needs Help Choosing a Keyboard

Reaction score
Hey All!

I played piano for a while as a kid but hated the classical training and never put enough time into it. For some reason, many decades later, I still have a pretty good right hand in that I'm not totally cramped up, I've got some speed and control but don't know what to do with it. LOL

OK so, fast forward. I'm looking for a keyboard I can use in my home studio. I'm a guitarist/vocalist and want to start relearning the keyboard again.

We do have an old Yamaha PSR-500M but I don't like the feel and it only has 61 keys.

Is there something on the market like the Roland Go keyboards that has 73 + weighted or semi-weighted with decent Piano, Organ, McCartney Wings type synth, and strings for $500-$600? Or do I need to get a controller and a sound module? Used is also fine.

Thank you !!

Reaction score
Welcome.

This may help in explaining the differences.

Check out a Studiologic Compact 2X, 88 semi weighted keys with after touch, 88 onboard sounds and sliders for drawbar organ. Retails c$700

What also comes to mind is a Roland Juno DS 76 which retails new at $900 and you may ring a used on on one of the websites.

If you want to go the MIDI route then checkout the Studiologic SL88 controller at c$500.

Plenty of suggestions for other kit if you refine and expand upon your requirements.

Reaction score
Is there something on the market like the Roland Go keyboards that has 73 + weighted or semi-weighted with decent Piano, Organ, McCartney Wings type synth, and strings for $500-$600? Or do I need to get a controller and a sound module? Used is also fine.