Please help me hear my midi keyboard

Reaction score
Hi there

Complete Midi novice here. I have two teens who want to play a keyboard. Years ago my ex used to have a Midi keyboard a Roland PC 200 MK II and so I've dug it out of the loft.

I know just enough to know that a Midi keyboard only sends information to a PC and that the PC needs a piece of software in order to convert that information into a sound that it can produce through its speakers and that is me done on midi knowledge.

I've bought the keyboard a midi to USB cable and I downloaded Midi-OX (which I read somewhere would show me if the Midi signals were getting through). If I connect the keyboard to my laptop and press keys on it loads of information begins to show on the Midi OX screen so I think Midi signals are getting through to the computer. The cable has two Midi ends and one USB, but the keyboard only has one cable output that matches the pins on the Midi end of the cable. I get the signals on Midi-OX with one of the Midi ends plugged into the keyboard, but not the other so I've made the assumption that it will all function with just that one cable end plugged in.

So if we assume that my Midi signals are making it through to the PC could someone here please help me hear them. We aren't going to get into laying down tracks and mixing music, the kids just want to use the keyboard as a 'piano' i.e. press keys and hear the music in real-time.

I've downloaded a couple of free Midi software things - Studio One 3 x64, Anvil Studio, but don't know enough about them to know if they will do what I want or how to make them work to hear a realtime note press on the keyboard.

I am trying on a Portable running Windows 7 (as this seemed the simplest system to make work) or also have a desktop running Windows 8.1 - instructions for either both would be great.

If I am unlikely to make such an old keyboard work then this would also be great to know hopefully whilst I still have some hair left!