Portable / compact midi keyboard controller for practicing chords / scales

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a piano newbie, and when I'm practicing at home I use my 88 keys Roland FP-10.
As I'm often on the move I'm looking for a rather lightweight / portable option to keep on practicing (mostly music theory) even I'm not at home.
I know no small midi keyboard can really replace a full sized weighted 88 keys piano, but still - I hope it's better than not trying to practice at all.
I'd use the controller with my iPad / MacBook Pro and ALWAYS with headphones.

These are the products that might be suitable:

• iRig Keys 2 (pro?): the pro variant has full sized keys which might be close to a real piano feeling in terms of size ratio.
    On the other hand the non-pro variant is even smaller while still offering 37 keys in total

• Arturia KeyStep 37: smaller keys compared to a full sized piano, but what I liked was the option to see chords via the builtin LEDs and have the Arturia dynamically generate those as well as the sequence option where I could be able to record my input and add the other hand to it.

• Arturia MicroLab: very small footprint - basic features compared to Keystep but very portable (no option for connecting a sustain pedal though)

• Roli Lumi Keys: very portable, great connectivity to iPad, app lessons assistance for music theory seem to be ok.
    The keybed is not comparable to a full sized piano of course...
To make things even more complicated: current iPads / iPhones don't offer a headphone-out jack... which could make a portable setup even more difficult.
I'd be happy to hear your thoughts on this.

Thanks a lot

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I own an Arturia Keystep 37 and it's one of my favorite controllers. All metal chassis and real MIDI ports and simple USB power port make it a keeper.

I use mine whenever I'm testing out a new module and don't want to hook it up yet in the studio.