Recommendations for someone who wants to play heavy metal.

Reaction score
Hi!

I’m an amateur guitarist who wants to buy a keyboard to play, basically, progressive metal. I like a more technical and agressive -- a more shred -- keyboard style, which resembles the sound of guitars (let me be crystal clear: I want to play keyboard because, basically, I’m too lazy and cheap to replace the strings of my guitar every other week)

I’m gonna give you a few examples of the kind of timbres I want to play:

(the solo which starts at 2:14)

(the solo which starts at 9:59)

(the one which starts at 6:46)

(the one from the beginning)

(the one which starts at 0:44 and the one at 8:39)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-Y9RTcPHZo

(the one at 4:39)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTF3tHymgsM

(the main riff)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=41Z1amot0QM

(the main riff)

---

Could someone recommend me some models? I’m an absolute beginner, but it’s obvious I want to go beyond basics.

One more thing: are there substantial diferences between a 61-key instrument and a 88-key one in order to play what I want to play?

Thanks.

Reaction score
Unfortunately I cannot recommend specific keyboards, but I may give you some advice on what to look for.

First thing is to look for keyboards with editable presets. In short, synths. Either romplers or analog modeling synths. Among romplers (the most common type), arranger keyboards usually have limited editing of presets, if any. Avoid any model that won't allow you to create your own sounds or tweak factory presets. Romplers have short recorded samples of basic synth wave forms that are looped while you play the note, among other kinds of samples (including synth samples that already come with some processing done). Analog modeling synths are just like your regular VST synth on the PC. Those basic wave forms, some filter and good effects are all you need to make prog metal synth lead sounds.