Remembering Songs?

Reaction score
Hi, I am new here. I am an amature musician keyboard player. My problem I forget songs to easily. I can stop playing a song for maybe 2 weeks or so and forget how to play it. Sure I can go back a relearn it and once I check my notes it will come back again but it seems the more songs I learn the more I forget over time. Is this common for most musicians? Also I don't read notes but make songs up and pick up a lot of songs from youtube tutorials. Do pro musicians have this problem too. I was watching Paul McCartney doing a gig on stage on youtube on the piano playing some beatles and some of his wingz stuff, he was taking request from the audience and played them without missing a note. If it were me I would have to run the songs through my head and do a couple of dry runs on each song first. Whats wrong with me!!!!??

Reaction score
Is there any software available that is simple to use so that I can just ...say..like I hook up the laptop to my keyboard and play a song and it records it and also visually records the keys and chords so that if I forget I can just play it back with a detailed view of the keys played?

The Y_man

Reaction score
So what happened? What did the audience do?

Luckily it's a church so they didn't lynch me - they just tried to sing along with the wrong chords, wrong melody, wrong backing....!!! :eek:

I was trying to motion to the person in charge to kill the song and go onto the next one - but they just thought I was having a "momentary lapse" (not a complete meltdown) and tried to push on!! :oops:

Lucky the next song went ok... :p

The Y-man

Reaction score
On other fora in the past I adviced people to record 'backing tracks' of their songs nicely at home. If you have difficulties remember them you can play along with your own recorded music (or even fake to play along). I know quite a few gigging people have them at hand. Just in case.

Reaction score