Sequencing a song on Tyros 4

Reaction score
I am an amateur sequence programmer, and I love my Tyros 4. However there are a few issues that I have never managed to solve when I sequence a song - perhaps someone out in this forum will have the right answers:

a) Suppose I have forgotten a bar in a song that I am sequencing how can I insert a single bar on all the 16 tracks so that I could punch in and punch out the data in that bar?
b) Similarly how can I delete a particular bar (say bar # 50) on all the tracks within the song?
c) Also if I have a midi file from another keyboard brand (not Yamaha family), how can I change the instruments (per track) in the song to make the midi file compatible with the samples from Tyros 4?

Thanks in advance.

Jay Franco

Reaction score
You are well how best to say it, shafted or you seem to be.

The Tyros 4 manual sucks, zero info in how to edit ( but that is pretty well how it is, Korg are as bad ) and it does get worst, it says that the file can only be played on your Tyros and outputted as a WAV therefore useless in a DAW.

If you do not get specific how to advice here then there may be workarounds on the PSR forum.

You can also just use the Tyros as a MIDI keyboard and record onto a DAW.

Reaction score
Hi Jay,

My advice would to download a free copy of Cakewalk by Bandlab , and use that to move and delete things much easier

George

Thanks - that seems pretty much the best thing to do... however if the midi file is edited on Cakewalk, would it play back on the Tyros 4 as an XT3 or XT4 midi quality file? I know there are different types of Midi files out there, but once you try editing it on another platform, and bring it back to Tyros I am sure the sound samples may change... am I right in saying so? Thanks!

Reaction score
You are well how best to say it, shafted or you seem to be.