Struggling with Tempo: Advice Needed

Reaction score
I am in need of some solid advice from some of you experienced musicians that might have struggled with this issue in the past. First, some quick background. I started playing the keyboard about 10 months ago. With diligent practice I have progressed (in my opinion) quite nicely. Because I enjoy the challenge, I admit that I might be pushing myself up the learning curve too quickly. I have recently ventured into the realm of beginner/intermediate jazz pieces.

Now to the point. When playing across several octaves with 4-note bass chords & chromatic runs at the same time, I am having a heck of a time trying to maintain just an even tempo (regardless of the recommended tempo of the piece). I think that my problem is related to the fact that I am trying to read the sheet music while glancing at both of my hands to maintain the correct note position.

So, with that in mind, I have started to practice not looking at my hands & only at the music. My objective is to develop "muscle memory", as well as identifying the correct note by feel rather than sight. Am I on the right track? Thank you for any help!

Kit

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
Get your self into the rhythm of the music.
Tap your feet in time with the beat.
During practice, just play the bass or ACMP chords for a few minutes without melody allowing time for your muscle memory to adapt. Use the metronome if you wish. Give it time and practise practise practise same piece over and over.
Once you have that sorted you will feel heaps more secure and confident and it will be time to add in the melody.
Thats my theory. Works for me. Experts may disagree.
R

Reaction score
Ray’s comment …… works for me …….is so very accurate, there are no hard and fast methods we all develop our own systems that work for us.

For me it was the same as you are experiencing and it still is even after a few years when I start to learn a new piece.