Trying to recreate Van Halen's "JUMP" tone - Jupiter 80

Reaction score
Hi everyone! It is a pleasure to be here :) - I am hoping some experts here can give me a hand in trying to achieve this tone.

I have had my Jupiter 80 (actual hardware, not a VST or emulation) for about a week. I am a novice and really am trying to recreate the tone from Van Halen's Jump song.

Here is an example of the sound:

As you can see, this person is using both a Jupiter 8 and a Jupiter 80. I have watched a handful of videos that say to use a dual layer tone, sawblades, etc. I have also searched all over forums and just cant seem to get close. I cannot get anywhere near this sound! There are no patches that I can find. Can someone literally step by step show me how to recreate this sound? I spent 4 hour combining tutorials to get the sound and I always end up no where near the sound. Because I am a novice, if you just say "Use sawblade and brass tones" and use technical terminology I may not understand :(

Thank you so much for the help!!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Sometimes a modern synth or a ROMpler will have preset patches that try to duplicate or are modeled on certain classic synth patches-- such as "Jump"-- and often they will be named after the song or band that made them famous. Looking at the Sound List for the Jupiter-80, I see "Dont Jump" (Live Set List, No. 10) in the "Synth Brass" category on page 5. Have you tried that to see how it sounds?

EDIT: Even if it doesn't sound exactly the same, it might at least put you in the right ball park, then you could tweak it, layer it, etc., as needed to get closer to what you're looking for.

Reaction score