Using Cubase with YAMAHA MX88

Reaction score
Hi to all! I'm new to the Forum and need some guidance on using my Yamaha MX88 with Cubase. A friend of mine also said he uses his ipad to set up songs for performance. Any help with this will be greatly appreciated. I'm 65 and still rockin but this technology is pretty tough.
I'm not completely inept, I am a Drone Pilot and use a computer daily at work. Thanks to all in advance!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
How are you wanting to use Cubase and the MX88 together-- multitrack recording, live sequencing, using the MX88 as a controller for virtual instruments, etc.?

As for using an iPad to set up performances, there's an app called SongBook+ from BauM that lets you create song lists, display PDFs of sheet music, and send MIDI messages to a connected instrument. If you set up and save user performances on the MX88 (a.k.a. registrations on other types of keyboards), you can select a given performance by sending a given Bank Select and Program Change to the MX88-- similar to selecting a single voice, but with a performance you can have 16 different voices split or layered however you wish, or play some of the 16 live and have the rest be played by a sequencer, etc.

Reaction score
Hey SeaGTGruff! Thanks so much for your help. Yeah I want to use an app that will allow me to use the Preset Performances I have on the MX88 and be able to put them in order for live performance using Songbook+
I have got Songbook+ downloaded but have not tried it yet. Been reading the manual. Seems pretty complex. Like I told someone on the Forum I am 65 age and this tech stuff doesn’t come easy to me. I’m not totally inept. I use a computer daily at work plus I am a Drone pilot and use an iPad regularly.
Someone also recommended KeyStage app too? Thoughts? I bought the Galileo 2 app and love it!