What keyboard I should buy?

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new here in this forum and I want to ask which keyboard I should buy? I am a beginner and I don't really know much about these keyboards.

Firstly I wanted to buy a Yamaha PSR-9000, but it has very much stuff and looks complicated.

Then I read on some sites that the best keyboard for beginners would be the Yamaha EZ-220, which has those lighting keys and is somehow cheaper.

Both keyboards have 61 keys, and I read on some sites and forums that it is a big difference between 61, 76 and 88 keys, does it really matters? I want to practice songs with a program called Synthesia (for example Hip-Hop/Rap, Techno etc..)

Thanks in advance my friends!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
A great deal depends on how much money you're able to spend on a keyboard, as well as how you intend to use it. If you're looking for a keyboard that you can play on stage in gigs, then you should set your standards much higher than if you're just planning to learn with it and have some fun tinkering around at home, (I'm in the latter category myself.)

If you want something for performing on stage, then as far as Yamahas I'd recommend you consider nothing below one of the PSR-S models, or maybe a digital stage piano or synthesizer.

But for a beginner or for home recording, one of the PSR-E or YPT models might suffice if you don't need more than 61 keys, otherwise one of the DGX or YPG models with 76 or 88 keys would be good if you're more interested in playing compositions for the piano. The number of keys can be a matter of personal preference, with 76 keys being a nice compromise because they don't take up as much space as 88 keys yet provide a little more range than 61 keys. Still, 61 keys is usually adequate for playing organ or synth music.