Which keyboard to buy? CP88, CP4, P-515

Reaction score
I am looking to buy a keyboard that fits the following criteria:
-Mimics a real piano for home use (we don’t have room anymore so getting rid of the old piano at least for a few years.)
-Portable for occasional gigs (mostly solo except at church)
-Singer songwriter tools and recording capability into my iPad
I’ve had it in mind that I want to buy the CP88 but is this overkill? When I look at more inexpensive, lighter, easier to haul around models, I worry that I’ll be sacrificing quality of sound and touch. Maybe I shouldn’t be acting so picky..I’ve been hauling the same p-95 around to gigs for like 15 years and while I don’t love it, it has done the job. We don’t live near a city where I can actually try different keyboards out, so i appreciate your input.

Reaction score
The P515 is a discontinued model, its replacement is 7lbs heavier than a CP 88, the new PS500 has inbuilt amp and speakers and is more of a Home Player piano.

I and no doubt others will suggest that you go to your local music store and try as many as you can, including other makes.

Reaction score
The P515 is a discontinued model, its replacement is 7lbs heavier than a CP 88, the new PS500 has inbuilt amp and speakers and is more of a Home Player piano.

I and no doubt others will suggest that you go to your local music store and try as many as you can, including other makes.

Reaction score

Again we live in such a rural area that I’m not able to go try keyboards. There’s only 1 music store an hour away and they just had 2 cheaper models to choose from.
What's your budget?